#2 ~ One huge door closes and a ginormous wall opens…

I’m sure you’ve heard the phrase, “when one door closes another one opens” or maybe a window opens and for some it could be a small crack in a wall. Have you ever wanted to haul off and punch someone when being told this? I know, clutch the pearls, Melody would never ever want to hit someone. Tragic, but true, I’ve had the desire.

The past few years and especially the last two weeks have been mentally, emotionally and physically challenging for both me and my husband. Like the plethora of others around the country and globe, we’ve been drastically hit by this horrid economy. I won’t go into detail, but let’s just say we are good little citizens who did everything ‘by the book’ and started investing in real estate from practically day one of our adult lives… Well, needless to say, that chapter has been slammed shut. It’s a whole new world.

So, I’m basking in self pity, overtaken by fear and mourning the loss of a dream (a 14 year journey) and becoming overwhelmed mentally.  It got so bad that just the other day I was at a meeting, looked at the speaker (whom I am friends with) and, for the LIFE of me, could not think of her name. I had to pull up our last text conversation in order to be clued in. How bad is that? I can’t believe I just admitted it. Brain dead, I tell you.

Well, the door closed on that part of our lives and then this ginormous wall opens. Just hours before I got the phone call that my bucket list project was a go, I cracked open a devotional book I keep around the house. It was one of those moments where you just want NEED to open a book and have exactly what you need be the first thing you read. That never happens, right? Well, it happens in the movies…and it happened for me. It was the exact two and half pages I needed, but here’s just a line or two that sums it up….

From the book Joy Breaks

Guidance Out of Nowhere- by Luci Swindoll

When I am afraid, I will trust in you. – Psalm 56:3

“Fear is indiscriminate. It affects all of us regardless of our age or position in life. Whether our fear is absolutely realistic or out of proportion in our minds, our greatest refuse is Jesus Christ…..At times like these we can either quiver in our boots and become paralyzed by that “deer caught in the headlights” phenomenon, we can retreat completely convincing ourselves that the problem doesn’t exist, or we can talk to the One who is able to calm our apprehensions and fears and give us courage to move ahead with a heart of confidence and assurance.”

I was at the point of quivering in my boots and becoming paralyzed along with my brain completely falling out of my head. The second I started reading this devotion I was overwhelmed with calm and peace. Hours later, I received the call that caused the my lack of sleep (from excitement) last night.

I decided to crack the book open again this morning and let my eyes land wherever they may….today’s devotion, just a few lines from 3 pages:

Sign on the Dotted Line – by Patsy Clairmont

“…Now, how about you? Are you willing to take a risk (even if you’re not the best in the field) and learn (not yearn for) a new skill, set a new goal, or help a dream come true? If so, please sign on the dotted line….”

WOW!

Just wait until my next post…it’s gets even better. I still can’t believe it. 😉

photo by dhuend / photo by shho

©2010 Melody G. Fritchley

16 Comments »

  1. Kerry said

    The suspense is KILLING ME.

  2. Candice Jaehn said

    AMAZING, Melody! I’m glad that God is blessing you so immensely!

    I needed that excerpt you posted from “Guidance out of Nowhere”! I’m waiting patiently for the doors/windows/cracks to open in my family’s life!

    So excited for your next post!

    • Melody said

      Keep being patient…so much easier said than done, I know. I was practically turned inside out waiting and wanting and waiting. Hang in there and crack a window to let some fresh air in….

      (((hugs)))

  3. Can’t wait to hear what happens next! Allow Him to order your steps and have Faith!

    Here from SITS.

  4. Stephanie said

    Wow, this is so inspirational. God bless and know that God is not always “safe” and conventional (which is what I sometimes wish He was), but He is GOOD! How nice to rest in that!

    (P.S. I’m the girl with the peach post and I’m here from SITS)

    Steph

  5. Stephanie said

    P.S. I love the title! I’m 5’10 and 1/2″ and in any sort of heel I’m 6 feet or taller:) Yay tall gals!!

  6. Mysti said

    can’t wait to keep reading!!!!!!!!!! Keep blogging, girlfriend!
    (oh, and i have the exact same devotional book!) 🙂

  7. Michele said

    Beautiful!! very inspiring!!!

  8. Roni Marie said

    Wow, the plot and the suspense thickens!

    I can relate to the punch in the face thing…some of the advice I have been given since being unemployed is right up there! I realize one needs to be positive, but I swear if I one more person tells me the one door closes, another one opens AGAIN! just sayin!

  9. Roz said

    There are messages everywhere, sometimes we just need to stop and listen! 🙂

  10. Thanks for stopping by my page yesterday Melody!
    I am sucked in- what’s the project? You can tell me… we don’t know the same people so I’m a safe bet!
    I love when God does little things for us, like opening the book right to where we need to be reading. When He does little things like its a nice reminder that He’s still in control, and of course will never forget about me!

  11. ALE518 said

    The second chapter of a great novel…can’t wait to find out the ending…but I know it will be worth it! 😉

  12. Anna said

    Ha, Ha…when reading the first paragraph I visualized you as a Julia Child clutching her pearls! This is fun, & we’re just getting started 🙂

  13. […] I mentioned in a previous post, we started investing in real estate when we were practically babies. Again, that chapter has […]

  14. […] I hit you with “when one door closes another one opens” in my last blog entry…brace yourself, I’m going to slap down a […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

