#5 ~ Which came first, the blog or the project?

Yesterday, a friend of mine, Roni Marie, asked this question on one of my Facebook posts. Obviously, I got a kick out of it and instantly rolled it into this blog title. To answer the question, the project came first…

I started this blog a whopping 5 days ago and I’m floored that there have been almost 1000 views already! (That’s not counting my own, by the way.) I see there are blogs linking me to theirs and I’ve been added to many feeds. I’ve received emails, texts, phone calls, facebook messages in my inbox and comments on my posts all asking WHAT IS IT and WHEN WILL WE KNOW? Wow, talk about pressure! First, I’d like to humbly thank you for coming by…please, feel free to kick your feet up and help yourself to the fridge.

I still can’t disclose what it is, but I will be able to offer some info as we move forward. I can tell you that I had the idea for the ‘project’ when I searched for it myself. I searched high and low to no avail. Now, it could be out there, but if it is, it is hiding very very well. My two year old should get dibs on playing hide-and-go-seek with it…then maybe I’d be able to get some work done around the house.

A couple years ago I had the opportunity to sit down with some big wigs  who actually wanted to hear my thoughts on a project of their own. We sat, we chatted and I even came up with something that could come in handy for them. I was asked to help them locally. At the time, I just had a baby that had spent 7 weeks in the NICU, wasn’t sure if I wanted to continue the business I already owned, we were on the cusp of a big real estate undertaking and I was just overwhelmed a bit. Hmmm I’m wondering how it went for them…I should ask.

So, I had this big idea (aka the ‘project’) and was apprehensive about sharing details because if it was, in fact, a good idea, I sure as heck didn’t want to just hand it over for someone else to run with. After realizing that it was now or never, I shared my thoughts….and he (Mr. Pres) liked  loved it! It’s been a while and we’ve both been mulling things around and doing research. Now, we’re moving forward.

I’m not ignorant to the fact that there are an astonishing amount of steps to be taken in order to launch a project of such magnitude and really, that’s the reason I wanted to start this blog. When I think that I haven’t moved an inch, I’ll have the blog to look back on and see the progress. When I feel so extremely small, I’ll have support to kick my butt and tell me to get back in the ring. When I hit a road block and get stuck, well, I can click on all the hilarious YouTube  videos that friends post online and at least get a good laugh for a little while.

Right now, we’re in the heavy research stage…already past initial reviewing…it’s nitty gritty time. We’re also gathering the troops (the folks who will be working on this massive undertaking), marketing strategies are being formed and of course, the mad herd of buffalo are still stampeding my digestive tract. Poor little butterflies in my tummy didn’t stand a chance.

So, there’s some info to hold you over until next time. 😉

Oh and here’s some bonus info, a ‘tallness report’ if you will….I hit my head on another tree branch today.  I had mesquite tree bloom things stuck in my hair and didn’t know until hours later. Probably didn’t matter though…everyone else was too short to see the top of my head. 😉 Things like this happen when you’re this tall.

 photo by immrchris

©2010 Melody G. Fritchley

23 Comments »

  1. Danielle said

    Melody,

    I love your blog, and I’ll be praying for “the project”. Best of luck and keep up the great work, you’re an awesome writer. OOHHH is that the project, you’re gonna right a book about being tall and running into trees? LOL j/k

    Danielle

  2. courtney said

    You’re right. the short people didn’t notice the mesquite tree bloom stuff in your hair AT ALL. 🙂

  3. Sharon said

    I suppose all the highlighted words and phrases are clues?? I wish you all the luck and know that you will succeed in whatever it is.

    • Melody said

      No, the highlighted phrases are just links. They aren’t clues.
      😉

      ~melody~

  4. dianehenkler said

    Hi Melody- Thanks fo stopping by my blog. SITS has opened a whole new world for me to discover. My husband is in the same process as you are, launching an idea and watching it grow. He was laid off last April and he has been trying to start something exciting. It is a lot of hard work, determination and perserverance . He is going into New York tomorrow for meetings and presentaions with the big guns of three companies.

    Good luck – I will be rooting for you from afar.
    Diane @ InMyOwnStyle

  5. Stephanie said

    Thank you for stopping by from sits…my idea/project came first…and then the blog came….just a way to reach out…this is not my first blog…but this is a fun one!

  6. Candice Jaehn said

    Sounds AMAZING! Hoping everything turns out the way you planned and that God will have his hand in it the whole way through!

  7. Chrystal said

    Maybe you are getting a bill passed across the U.S. that all trees must be trimmed so everyone even Shaq could walk under them without hitting their heads!!!

    THAT HAS TO BE IT!!! 🙂

    • Melody said

      My head hurts from laughing so hard!! You’re hysterical, Chrystal!!!

  8. Roz said

    That’s ok, they probably just noticed your FABULOUS jewelry instead!

  9. Roni Marie said

    I am definitely intrigued and inspired…I don’t know if I am brave enough to do what you are doing Melody; I admire you!

  10. Kim said

    Stop by my blog I have something for you!

  11. Kristin said

    I am so excited for you…………………….maybe some of John’s enchiladas will distract your stomach from the buffalo. 🙂 Worth a try right?!

  12. Kerry said

    Come on Mel. YOU could never feel SMALL.

    😉

  13. Joey said

    It makes me chuckle to think of what you must go through being 6 feet tall. I’m 5’6″ and the elderly of Canonsburg, PA (where I used to work) would stop me and ask me if I played basketball because I was the tallest person they’d ever seen. I often wondered what they would have said if I was actually tall!

  14. Mari said

    Melody!!! I’m so happy to hear from you. I missed you.
    It was fun reading through these posts. I can’t wait to hear more about “the project!”

  15. Tricia said

    Ok, so when this is all through and the Today show invites you on, will you bring me? I so want to meet Matt, Meredith and Ann! Oh, and Al! Hehe!

  16. Imperfect said

    Oh I’m so glad that you’re back to blogging! And I’m thrilled to hear of this new project. I’ll be praying while I read! Can’t wait to here more. 🙂

  17. Andrea said

    I’d be too short to see the leaf in your hair too, but if I wasn’t, I would’ve told you about it!

  18. Heather Fair said

    you did a blog just to please people….I love people pleasers….I am one too…hehe…thanks! people pleasers rule….awhahahaha

  19. ALE518 said

    Well, I think we can all safely assume you aren’t building a better mousetrap and instead found a rare void in the vast sea of products out there…Good On Ya! 😉

  20. MrBarns said

    Hey, I found your blog while searching on Google your post looks very interesting for me. I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

