#13 ~ Motivation Monday – Interview with Crystal Escobar

Today’s motivational interview is with a fellow blogger in the blogsphere. Shortly after I started 6 Feet Over, Crystal Escobar from Balanced Moms and I became acquainted via another blog. Since then, we’ve become regular readers of each others musings. Recently, she gave me the Sunshine Award. I have to give a shout out to Andrea from The Freckled Bug as well for the fabulous recognition. These gals know how to make someone’s day. 😉

Crystal shares a touching story about one of her dreams she accomplished. Because I’m a hopeless romantic, I instantly grew fond of the declaration of love to her groom …

Melody: Tell us about yourself…

Crystal: Well, I’m in my early 20’s :)….. Okay, I’m pushing 30, but who’s counting? I’ve been married almost 6 years, we have a 4 year old daughter and a 10 month old son. Blogging has become my new hobby, connecting with other moms, and sharing my thoughts and life experiences has been very fulfilling for me. My constant goal is to stay in balance between mind, body, and soul. That is what my blog is all about, my ongoing quest for balance in motherhood.

Melody: What is one item you’ve been able to check off your bucket list?

Crystal: Sing to my husband on my wedding day.

I always dreamed of singing a love song to my husband on our wedding day. I imagined I would write a song of my own, or find the perfect song with the right words to express how I felt.

Melody: How romantic! I’ve always dreamed of being able to sing period, but to sing on your wedding day, that’s just amazing! When did this become a goal of yours?

Crystal: Well, I guess ever since I was young. As little girls, we grow up watching singing princesses living fairy tale lives. We dream of our weddings and living our own fairy tale one day. I’ve always LOVED music, I love singing (although, it’s not one of my talents), love listening to the lyrics of songs and applying them to my life. There’s nothing better than finding a song that describes how you’re feeling in every way.

Melody: Why was singing to your husband on your wedding day so important to you?

Crystal: I am a true believer that we all have special talents. Some have been blessed with an incredible voice, and others, like in my case, not so much, lol. But I don’t think that should hold us back from singing when we want, or expressing ourselves through song.

One of the biggest things I’ve struggled with in life, is caring too much what other people think. It has held me back in some things and kept me from doing what I really wanted at times. I am determined to overcome it, and the only way to overcome it, is to keep fulfilling my passions and dreams, without second thought of what others may think. That is really hard for me, but I’m committed to not letting that be a hindrance.

Melody: At any point, did you think you wouldn’t be able to follow through with this and did you ever want to give up?

Crystal: Oh sure, I was tempted many times to just call it off, not the wedding, my plans of singing that is. It would have been easy too, since my husband, well, fiancé at the time, had no clue I was planning to do this. I let my nerves get to me a few times, and almost decided against it, but I knew that THIS was my only chance. You only get ONE wedding day, if you’re lucky . So, when that day finally came, I wasn’t about to give up on that dream. I didn’t exactly have much time to write my own song, since we only dated for 2 weeks, and were engaged for 3 months before getting married. So instead I found the ultimate song to convey how I felt about the love of my life.

Melody: What kept you going?

Crystal: I didn’t want to spend the rest of my life WISHING I had the guts. I knew I’d regret it if I let fear get the best of me.

If the video doesn’t work, you can watch it by clicking HERE.

Melody: What advice would you have for people striving to reach their goals?

Crystal: Don’t allow yourself to be controlled by the likes and dislikes of others. Be who you want to be, and do what you want to do. Letting your fears get the best of you, will only bring regrets. Think about all the things you ever wanted to do, but DIDN’T, for fear of being judged by others.

Melody: What are some things on your bucket list you have yet to accomplish?

Crystal: Well, I have many things I want to do and see. I’m still dabbling in different things, trying to find my SPECIAL talent. I may not be REALLY good at one thing, I may just have been blessed to be a little good at a lot of things 🙂 I want to see different parts of the world, learn other cultures and languages. I can speak fluent German thanks to my LDS mission, and now want to be fluent in Spanish, and French. Also, as I said before, I love music, so I would like to learn to play the piano, violin and guitar, as well as write my own songs. I know these seem pretty lofty, because of the time it requires to accomplish them. Lets face it, there isn’t a whole lot of extra time when you’re a mom. But they are on my list, and there will come a day when I’m going to need something to keep me busy once kids are grown and moved away. For now, I’m just trying to cherish each moment with my family, and continue to work on developing myself one day at a time.

Melody: What’s your favorite inspirational quote?

Crystal: I have two actually,

“Legacy is greater than currency” -Gary Vaynerchuk

“It is as we serve, as we take time to express interest and concern in someone other than ourselves, that we are more likely to gain a glimpse of who we really are and what we can ultimately become.” -Gordon B. Hinckley

Melody: Thank you for sharing your story, Crystal! Every single time I watch the video I need a tissue…so incredibly wonderful!

To my readers, if you or someone you know would like to share their bucket list story, please contact me at 6feetover.melody@gmail.com.

©2010 Melody G. Fritchley

23 Comments »

  1. Jordan said

    What a cool story. I know how hard it can be to get up in front a crowd and perform–it’s no easy feat! Kudos to Crystal for making sure she had no regrets on her wedding day, and for accomplishing this bucket list goal!

  2. Tiffany said

    What a great story!! That song was Heather and Steve F’s at their wedding… I LOVE that song.

    Thanks to Crystal for sharing it. She has waaaaaaaaaaaaay more guts than I do. 🙂

  3. What a delightful interview and beautiful bride. Thank you, Melody. I so appreciate the quotes also.

  4. Mari said

    Thanks for sharing this! I’m impressed that she had the guts to do this – what a great video! I enjoyed the interview too.

  5. Andrea said

    I don’t know what Crystal is talking about, she can sing! I think this is such a lovely story, so sweet. I read about this on her blog and I just love it!

  6. It really struck me that she didn’t want to go through life wishing she’d had the guts to do it. Thanks for another inspiriting interview!

  7. Date Girl said

    Ok I don’t even know Crystal at all but I teared up watching the video. Crystal did an amazing job and the look of love she and her husband shared, the way he hugged her afterwards, ahhhh I’m still tearing up!! Good for you for going for it! Amazing!

  8. Oh for crying out loud – they look the most perfect Barbie and Ken couple AND they are precious people! I love her and I love this post. What a great interview, Melody!

  9. KellieS said

    Love this interview! She is amazing and so sweet! Great pick, Mel!

  10. Kelly Jo said

    What a treat! Two of my favorite bloggers (and biggest supporters) in one post!!!
    Thank you for such an awesome interview Melody and Crystal. You two have in just a couple short weeks really inspired me both mentally and physically!
    Melody, remember a few days ago I was pondering a big change? I decided to go for it, and got a new job (which, as it turns out, comes with a nice raise). It will be different, and I can’t wait to start. We only live once, right?
    And Crystal, I have found a marathon partner, and will be working on getting back into marathon shape. I have a long way to go, but I know I can do it again. I only get this one body, and I’m sick of it looking like it’s still pregnant!
    Keep doing what you do ladies- you are inspiring people to change for the better.
    And Crystal- you can sing! What are you talking about? It was beautiful- as are you and the video!

  11. Tricia said

    Great story! I’m just going to sing out loud now no matter what!!! 🙂

  12. Crystal said

    Ahhh, I just love you guys! Thank you so much for all your sweet comments. You all are so supportive, and I really appreciate your sincere kinds words 🙂

  13. very inspiring! Thanks for visiting my giveaway over @ bonbon girls! I love every item that you mentioned! They are all so unique. If you would like anything from Stella & Dot I can get you discounted shipping! Just email me. Beth.peele@gmail.com. Have a great day:)

  14. That was amazing! Talk about leaping into the flames!! What a great story.

  15. Melissa B. said

    Interesting story…thanks for sharing!

  16. Roz said

    Ok, I seriously had to grab the box of tssues. I am such a sucke for a great love story with the Happily Ever After Ending!

  17. Anna said

    You know, after watching Crystal’s video, I thought that not one person could have sung that song any better…not even Celine Dion, because Crystal sang it out of true love! She didn’t sing it because God gave her the most amazing voice any human has ever heard…No, because that’s not what would make it special! Doing something for love for more exceeds doing something because you possess the talent to do it! Crystal is Amazing! I’m going to make up my own little jingle about that, & sing it around my house for all to hear!

  18. […]  This is a blog worth following!” -Candace Creations Read an Interview with Crystal HERE at 6 Feet Over, and HERE at The 5th […]

  19. […]  This is a blog worth following!” -Candace Creations Read an Interview with Crystal HERE at 6 Feet Over, and HERE at The 5th […]

  20. […] was recently interviewed by Melody at 6 Feet OverGo check out her blog to see the interview. You will LOVE her blog, like I mentioned before in Blog Awards post, she is very inspiring and SO […]

  21. […] �This is a blog worth following!” -Candace Creations Read an Interview with Crystal HERE at 6 Feet Over, and HERE at The 5th […]

  22. ask said

    Exceptional post however , I was wanting to know if you could write
    a litte more on this subject? I’d be very thankful if
    you could elaborate a little bit more. Kudos!

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

