#25 ~ Evidence of Circumstance … good-bye funk

I’ve been quiet lately. For those who know me, this is a rare occurrence and most likely it’s something you wish would happen more often. har har

Difficult circumstances leave traces of evidence. The first evidence that shows up in my life is usually quietness….but not the peaceful quiet we seek by going on vacation. The sad kind of quiet that makes me want to not to talk to anyone. Hide. Be alone.

Melody wants not to talk? That never happens.

Life had just been getting me down and I couldn’t shake it. I hate it when that happens. What I hate even more is when circumstance changes your attitude. I can’t really say my perspective was changed, because I know better than that….which is another reason I fell deeper into a funk. I know better than to let a circumstance change who I am and who God made me to be.

I was in a deep funk. I hate funk. I hate all things funk related. Especially the funky chicken, but that’s another blog post.

Just as I dove into the deep end of despair, I was asked to help out at my church’s six Easter services. I immediately said yes without thinking about what all it entailed. Long story short, I assisted the creative arts team by climbing up on scaffolding and writing descriptive words onto plexi glass (backwards mind you…I’ve developed some mad backward writing skills) at the beginning of each service. After the message, we erased those words and wrote FULLY ALIVE.

Of course, when I wrote “fully alive” I dotted my ‘i’s with little suns. I’m cheesy like that…

I love it when God steps in and says, “Just turn it over to me. It’ll be alright. I got this one. Trust me,” and then invites you to be a part of something so much bigger than yourself allowing the evidence of circumstances to be erased so that you can once again become FULLY ALIVE.

If you’re interested in taking a peek, click here for a video clip of the first portion of the plexi peeps (get it ‘peeps’… Easter…yeah, I know). I’m on the left behind the guitarists and piano player. I start with the word “LOST”…not as in the TV show, although, I am still pretty lost on that show.

Here is a video of the entire service. It’s pretty amazing and the pre-service video cracks me up…”Connection Card….LOVE it!”

The Project….

I have a cool update for the ‘project’ tomorrow. Let’s just say I hope the wind storm that is brewin’ where I live calms down for my project-related flight tomorrow. Oh and let’s hope I DON’T miss the flight this time.  I haven’t lived that down with Mr. Pres and VP.

I’m sure I’ll be tweeting about it now that I recently set up a Twitter account…because that’s what this world needs…one more person tweeting about absolutely nothing that others really care about. Ha. (Follow my tweets here.)

Happy Monday to ya. Make it a good one!

©2010 Melody G. Fritchley

10 Comments »

  1. jess said

    why welcome back, my dear! you have been missed. ♥

  2. Shelly Harris said

    I don’t tweet, so I hope you remember your Facebook friends and Blog buddies along with your Tweet team! Travel safely!

  3. Roz Rucker said

    God works in mysterious ways! We just have to trust in Jim and yourself. Hang in there girl!

  4. Courtney said

    And. She’s. BACK!!!! Love Him, Love you, love this post!!!

  5. Crystal said

    I hear ya sista. I hate when I get in a funk, and everything seems to suck. Of course, it’s totally normal, and a part of life, but I still hate it. I think it has a lot to do with the weather, although, I’m not sure what it’s like in Vegas right now. Snowing here in Utah as we speak, ugh. I’m sick of it. I think going on vacation and getting a taste of the sunshine made me even more depressed to come back home.
    Anyway, I loved reading this, it’s always nice to know I’m not alone 🙂

  6. Being in a funk is bad, but Easter seems like an appropriate time to get out of one. Fully alive indeed.

  7. Andrea said

    Glad to hear you are getting back to your old self! I almost emailed you and asked if you were ok when there was no posting for a while! Hope all goes well with your trip. Don’t forget your id! 🙂

  8. Kerry said

    Hurray Melody! Glad you are breaking out of your funk. Have a nice trip! Stay away from Cinnabon in the airport! See you Saturday!

  9. LeighAnne said

    Good luck at the meeting!

  10. Welcome back, Melody! I always like to combine Jeremiah 29:11 and Romans 8:28…”For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” When we put that with “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose…” then we know His plan will be good. Even when it doesn’t seem like it will be. It will be.

    Funks are normal. Funks are not fun. But this too shall pass, my dear. Praying for it to lift. In the meantime, I am going to follow you on Twitter! 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

