#28 ~ Favorite Things Friday…

I’m sure there is a blog meme in cyberspace that has to do with Favorite Things, but I haven’t heard of it yet. If it’s not out there, perhaps I should start a new meme – “Favorite Things Friday”…. Hmmm

Call me totally random because I was just sitting at my laptop (the one that has Mac envy) and thought how I want to list some of my favorite things. I think Free Bagel Fridays at Einstein’s got me on this train of thought today. I just love me something FREE….which got me thinking about other things in life that top my favorite list.

I know this may seem frivolous, but really, I think it’s a good thing (said in the tone of Martha Stewart, “it’s a good thing”) to focus on things that make you smile even if it’s a coupon for a free bagel. There’s enough in this world to make you frown so take some time to enjoy some good stuff.

Here are a few of my favorite things….I’ll save more for later.
(And just so you know, I am not being paid to mention these links even though I have been contacted from companies lately. If Gucci contacts me I will be all over the paid post. ha )

Free Bagel Fridays at Einstein Bros Bagels ANDΒ $2 Tuesdays at Einstein Bros Bagels


Call me old because some people tell me that only old women shop here. LOVE their home section. It’s like a treasure hunt every time I go.
Stein Mart and Coupons for Stein Mart


Restaurant.com70% off right now with code FEAST


Menu Plan Monday – (sponsored by orgjunkie.com) Every Monday she lists her menu for the week with links for the recipe. I used to participate in this blog meme a while back on my old blog. I’m thinking about jumping back in…it’s a lot of fun and you get to try new recipes…and it saves you a ton of time and money.

Home Decor Magazines – I LOVE them…and love it when I receive them as gifts! Also love amazon.com where you can get them for as cheap as $5 a year! Here’s one of my faves…. House Beautiful


Ina GartenΒ AKA The Barefoot Contessa – call me crazy, but I just love her calm and soothing her voice. I haven’t ever made any of her recipes, but I do sometimes turn on her show just for background noise. ha!

I’d love to know … what are your favorite things?
Maybe I’ll post some of your faves, too.

26 Comments »

  1. Mari said

    I wish we had a Stein Mart near us – it sounds loke a great store. I have an Ina Garten cook book – it is a good thing!

    • Melody said

      I really should get an Ina Garten cookbook … she makes some amazing dishes. Now, if I could only get her to cook for me. Her friends must LOVE her! haha

      ~melody~

      • michelle z said

        I have 2 and use them often…

        • Melody said

          Does she have a vegetarian one? I still want to try to go veg! πŸ™‚

          ~melody~

  2. Eliza said

    Oh there are so many favorites….

    A gift card…it’s like a little piece of heaven just waiting for a rainy day.
    a bouquet of fresh flowers. It feels so luxurious.
    My favorite night cream…Nightamins from Origins. It smells like an orange creamcicle!
    Really glamourous shoes.

    • Melody said

      Oooooooo I use Nightamins! It smells FANTASTIC!!! I’ll list that one next week! Awesome list!

      ~melody~

  3. michelle z said

    I too love Ina. She reminds me of Kinder teacher when I was little. I just love to watch her show…it somehow soothes me! lol

  4. I love this meme! Some of my favorite things…

    Martinis
    Plush hotel beds
    Designer jeans
    Paranormal shows
    Brody Jenner without a shirt on

    πŸ˜‰

  5. I’ll have to say the plastic gift cards. Get quite a few at Christmas and let them float through the year. Very special thoughts of the person who gifted me when I finally use it.

  6. Marci Zavala said

    My favorite thong right now (and I literally mean RIGHT NOW)….. Spinning (on a bike) in my living room while my boys play Mario Kart. It feels like I’m actually going somewhere !!

    • Marci Zavala said

      It was suppose to say “thing”. Not ” thong”!!!! Guess that’s one mark against spinning and typing!

  7. Date Girl said

    I love home decor magazines and home decorating ideas in general. My current fav is this amazing kickboxing class I’m taking twice a week. I love the endorphine kick I get from it! I also love a feel good romantic comedy. Can’t get enough of those, especially the Harry Met Sally/Sleepless in Seattle/While You Were Sleeping type of flicks.

  8. I’ve never set foot inside the Stein Mart. Something about “Mart” in a name does evoke an image of an elderly clientele. Perhaps I’ll have to put my bias aside and check it out.

  9. Melissa said

    Hmmm…
    Some of my favorite things…
    sleeping in…
    my Keurig coffee maker
    watching HGTV and the Food Network…I could watch all day…if there was time…haha
    cooking magazines…Cooking Light, home decorating magazines…if only there was an unlimited supply of money to do it all…haha, Real Simple…love that one
    Summer… because I don’t have to work…I don’t like the weather though
    Spring…because I love to eat outside and enjoy the weather πŸ™‚
    I’m sure there are more…I will have to get back to you!

  10. Thanks for visiting my blog! πŸ™‚
    Some of my favorite things (not in this order) are:
    Food
    A good run
    My mom friends
    My kindle
    hugs, kisses and I love yous from my girls
    The beach
    a good glass of red wine
    and so many more I’m sure but this list is a start πŸ˜‰

  11. michelle zamora said

    how about people watch at Starbucks. (when I am supposed to be doing homework. lol)

  12. Kathy said

    Ina is my favorite Chef program to watch on the Foot Network … and agree that her voice and demeanor is very calming. I would love to have dinner with her in her home πŸ™‚

  13. Kerry said

    Jane Austen – I downloaded a (free) app of her collected works to my iPhone so I have her humor and romance and wit at my disposal at any time. There is nothing like an Austen novel for comfort.

    Teavana – I steep a cup of their loose leaf tea every day. Their “easy tea steeper” is a perfect little marvel of a product. My current favorite is their Almond Biscotti black tea.

    Watching Blu-Ray movies on our big screen HDTV while lounging in our his and hers La Z Boys – the picture and sound quality are so good it’s like being in a theater in your own living room! Except much more comfortable! Some of our recent Blu-Ray purchases include Fantastic Mr. Fox, Monster Squad, Howard’s End and (500) Days of Summer.

    Vans slip ons – I have at least 5 pairs. So comfy and easy and colorful! Plus they have a nice retro feel that I love. Vans will never go out of style.

  14. At the moment, my favourite things are the sunshine and the birds in my garden. But I have LOTS of favourite things!

    Visiting to welcome you to SITS πŸ™‚

  15. I love the Barefoot Contessa, too! She is wonderful and her voice makes me want to crawl into her lap and hear a story.

    I am going to check out the “Menu Plan Monday” site, too – what a great idea and I most certainly need help in that area!!!

    Have a great week, Melody!

  16. Angelia said

    Hi! Stopping by from SITS tea party a little late!

    I will have to check out Menu Plan Monday, I’m always looking for new things to cook so the family doesn’t get bored.

  17. I love the Contessa! Her food always makes me want to cook.

  18. Brooke said

    A few friends and I blog about things we love on Fridays. We call it Fun Loving Friday and is one of my favorite posts to do. πŸ™‚

  19. Crystal said

    oooh, I love that menu plan Monday. I have to check that one out for sure, sounds like exactly what I need. I hate trying to decide what to make for dinner each week.

  20. […] thought it would be fun to list some of the favorites that you mentioned in the comments last week. Feel free to share this week and I’ll pick a few to […]

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

